Executive of the Year Awards

The Executive of the Year Award recognizes individuals who have devoted their careers to serving community providers and their clients. 

Look for 2020 nomination information to soon follow. 


2019 Award Winner

Ron Askland

Ron grew up in the Des Moines area and was a Recreational Therapist within an inpatient hospital early in his career. Ron is currently the CEO of Horizons Unlimited in Emmetsburg. 

Emmetsburg is a small community of less than 4,000 people in NW Iowa. Within this rural community, Ron and his team took the bold step to move all of the supported individuals to community-based services. This eliminated segregated services and placed over 45 individuals in a variety of employment settings. 

Ron has been a strong leader within the IACP family of community providers, and has served as IACP’s Employment Advisory Chair and on the Board of Directors. 

Please join us in congratulating Ron Askland as IACP’s 2019 Executive of the Year. 

2018 Award Winner

Bob Bartles

Bob’s leadership at Hope Haven and his advocacy at state and federal levels, combined with his volunteer work, has benefited IACP members and Iowans with disabilities in tremendous ways. He currently serves on the IACP Board of Directors.