Community Builder Awards

Recognizing Frontline Supervisors

Frontline Supervisors are the linchpin of the community-based human service industry. From spearheading extraordinary service delivery for vulnerable Iowans to constantly seeking ways to improve the accessibility, transparency, and coordination among their organization’s employees, exceptional Frontline Supervisors fervently pursue the vision that one day, all Iowans will live, learn and work in their community of choice. 

To recognize the essential role of Frontline Supervisors, in 2018, IACP developed the Community Builder Award. Each year, the awardees have been celebrated at the IACP Annual Conference & Trade Show. Community Builders play a critical role in the lives of 30,000 Iowans who receive community-based services, and we are honored to display and commemorate their efforts.

Nominations are now closed for Community Builder Awards 2022 and awardees will be announced at the IACP Annual Conference & Trade Show on May 10-12, 2022, in Ames, IA.

The Community Builder Awards 2022 are sponsored by Special Journeys.


2021 Award Winners

2020 Award Winners


2019 Award Winners

2019 Community Builder Award Winners

2018 Award Winners

MINDY BURR, Easter Seals, Inc. 
MICKEY DRAKE, The Howard Center 
RACHEL RIPHAGEN, Hope Haven; My Choice Employment 
SARAH SCHNEIDER, Lutheran Services in Iowa 
SUSAN KIEFER, Crossroads of Western Iowa 
TERRY FEHRING, The Penn Center, Inc.